Can you play your ball from another fairway?

11
Karianne Daugherty asked a question: Can you play your ball from another fairway?
Asked By: Karianne Daugherty
Date created: Thu, Mar 18, 2021 6:33 PM
Date updated: Thu, Jun 23, 2022 10:03 AM

Content

Top best answers to the question «Can you play your ball from another fairway»

You can drop a ball in the fairway within two club-lengths of that fairway edge point, or anywhere between there and the estimated spot where your ball is lost or went out of bounds… If you think that your ball might be out bounds or that you might not find it, you can play a provisional ball to save time.

10 other answers

But if you could carry your drive 275-300 or more over the trees and water, you cut the dogleg and were hitting to the green from a nice lie in the wrong fairway. It was a pace of play disaster and seemed outside the spirit of the

Playing onto the green If you are off the green and you play your approach, and your ball strikes your playing partner's ball, your ball will be played from where it lies, your friend's ball will be moved back to the original position. There will be no penalty incurred, and in match play, also no penalty.

Some courses mark boundaries per each hole, which means you cannot chose to play down the "wrong" fairway, or fairway of a different hole. However, some courses mark boundaries only per hazard (a body of water, a swamp, a forest, etc.).

And say your ball is on the rough. So long as you’re within one clublength of the nearest point of relief, no closer to the hole, you can now play from a different condition than your ball...

In this case, your second ball is the ball in play whether you like it or not. If you find your original ball, whether on the fairway or deep rough, you can retrieve it, but continue playing the second ball.

If the ball then falls off, you have to play it as it lies.) On the bright side, since things are a tad more serious in tournament play, you won't have the jamoke who chirps "One!" when your ball ...

Additionally, the most frequent case is two balls on the putting green where one is in the way of another. The ball nearer the hole is lifted and moved one or more putter head lengths to the side. Once again, in stroke play only, the player required to lift his ball may play first rather than lift.

Wrong. No, you cannot move a golf ball out of a divot hole even when that divot is in the fairway - at least, not without penalty. (You can declare the ball unplayable, assess yourself a one-stroke penalty, and drop.)

If you’ve forgotten where that was, estimate as best you can. But there’s more. This second exception doesn’t apply if a ball in motion hits another ball at rest or a ball marker on the green (see last’s week’s column for what

When another ball has been substituted for it, even if not allowed by a Rule. A ball that is not in play is a wrong ball. The player cannot have more than one ball in play at any time. (See Rule 6.3d for the limited cases when a

Your Answer