Nasa's four great observatories is named after which scientist?

Caesar Ruecker asked a question: Nasa's four great observatories is named after which scientist?
Asked By: Caesar Ruecker
Date created: Mon, Jun 21, 2021 3:21 AM
Date updated: Thu, Jun 23, 2022 7:34 AM


Top best answers to the question «Nasa's four great observatories is named after which scientist»

Named after the discoverer of the universal expansion, Edwin Hubble, this telescope is most famous because of the mesmerizing images it took of some of the most peculiar celestial objects, such pictures being credited in over thousands of scientific papers.

10 other answers

#amazonquiz One of NASA's four great observatories is named after which of these scientists?This is my video recorded with DU Recorder. It's easy to record y...

Step 2 : Answer to the question "One of NASA’s four great observatories is named after which of these scientists? Ans: Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar: Please let us know as comment, if the answer is not correct!

Compton had four instruments that covered an unprecedented six decades of the electromagnetic spectrum, from 30 keV to 30 GeV. In order of increasing spectral energy coverage, these instruments were the Burst And Transient Source Experiment (BATSE), the Oriented Scintillation Spectrometer Experiment (OSSE), the Imaging Compton Telescope (COMPTEL), and the Energetic Gamma Ray Experiment Telescope (EGRET).

dreamrob. Ace. The four great observatories of NASA's are The Humble Space Telescope, The Crompton Gamma Ray Observatory, The Chandra X-ray Observatory, and The Spitzer Space Telescope. Humble Space Telescope is named after the scientist Edwin Humble.

NASA's series of Great Observatories satellites are four large, powerful space-based astronomical telescopes launched between 1990 and 2003. They were built with different technology to examine specific wavelength/energy regions of the electromagnetic spectrum: gamma rays, X-rays, visible and ultraviolet light, and infrared light. The Hubble Space Telescope primarily observes visible light and near-ultraviolet. It was launched in 1990 aboard the Space Shuttle Discovery during STS ...

The Compton Gamma Ray Observatory (CGRO) is the second of the great observatory series of four spacecraft NASA plans to launch. Launched in 1991, the CGRO is a complex spacecraft fitted with four different gamma-ray detectors, each of which concentrates on different but overlapping energy ranges.

Each of the three spacecraft represented by models here arenamed for noted astronomers in the fields of optical and high-energy astronomy. The Hubble Space Telescope is named forEdwin Hubble. The Compton Gamma Ray Observatory isnamed for Arthur Holly Compton, and the Chandra X-rayObservatory is named for Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar.“Chandra” was a nickname used by Chandrasekhar. Assignsome students the task of researching these three astronomersand their accomplishments.

Dr. Charles Pellerin, NASA's Director, Astrophysics invented and developed the program. The four Great Observatories were launched between 1990 and 2003, and three remain operational as of 2016. Template:TOC right

In 1979, NASA named the third of its four "Great Observatories" after Chandrasekhar. This followed a naming contest which attracted 6,000 entries from fifty states and sixty-one countries. The Chandra X-ray Observatory was launched and deployed by Space Shuttle Columbia on 23 July 1999.

The Great Observatories concept was developed in the mid-1980s by American engineer Charles Pellerin, then Director of Astrophysics at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), as a way of providing an umbrella for four large, expensive astrophysics missions that otherwise might be viewed as funding competitors.

Your Answer